Website and Database of Science Museums and Science Popularization Sites of India

  • This Website has been developed under the sponsorship of the National Council for Science & Technology Communication (NCSTC), Department of Science and Technology, Government of India.
  • It presents the profile of 154 science popularization sites/science museums spread over as many as 28 states/union territories of the country. These include popular science museums, national, regional, state and district science centres, science cities and science parks, planetarium, aquariums, and subject-specific museums set up by scientific institutions/universities.
  • The total number of exhibits presented on the website is more than 4000.
  • The number of national level museums covered is 18, regional level is 16 and those of the state/district/educational institution/university level is 122.
  • Considering the S&T contents of these diverse exhibits spanning all the major S&T subjects, the website virtually constitutes a detailed science encyclopedia for school and college students and others.
  • The information provided on the Museums includes location, year of establishment, area of specialization, other tourist attractions within 10 km, structure and layout, supplementary material provided to visitors, quantum and type of visitors, timing with off-day, permissions necessary for photography/filming, and programmes offered to visitors.
  • The information provided on the Exhibits includes the S&T Field to which they belong, exhibit type and presentation, time required for interaction, and S&T content (science behind the exhibit).

The Project team

Project advice and review

Dr. Anuj Sinha Former Head NCSTC-DST, Dr. B.P. Singh Head NCSTC-DST,
Dr. Ujjwala T. Tirkey Scientist-E NCSTC-DST

Content development and presentation
Ashok Raj

Coordinators (information collection and processing)
Rakesh Kapoor, Madhu Kutariyar, Anupama Rai

Web design & Development
Abhishek Kumar

Data Entry
Dhirendra Kumar, Sandeep Sagar

State-wise information collection on science museums

  • Ravi Kashyap (Delhi, Punjab)
  • Sunil Kulkarni (Goa, Karnataka, Maharashtra)
  • Abhay Sinha (Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand)
  • Madhu Kutariyar (Bihar, Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttrakhand, West Bengal)
  • Pallav Kumar (Bihar, Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttrakhand, West Bengal)
  • Kushal Dev (Chandigarh, Delhi, Rajasthan)
  • Ashok Raj (Delhi, Madhya Pradesh)
  • Tapan Majumdar (Odisha, West Bengal)
  • Dr. Bathini Madhusree (Andhra Pradesh)
  • S. K. Singh (Uttar Pradesh)